Our Team

Our team of educators is dedicated to serving students, families, and our community.

Alexander Adams, M.Ed.

Head of School / Regional Vice President, Accel Schools

Mr. Adams was born and raised in Columbus, Ohio, and is an active member in the Greater Northland area community. Mr. Adams joined CHATA in 2012 with several years working with students in STEM programs through state-wide private and public partnerships. As Principal, Mr. Adams is responsible for leading our school academically and culturally, including the professional development and progress of our faculty. Prior to taking on the lead as Principal, Mr. Adams served as the Curriculum Implementation Specialist (CIS) under the previous administration. Mr. Adams holds a Master of Arts (summa cum laude) in Education from Mount Vernon Nazarene University, a Bachelor of Science (cum laude) in Education from The Ohio State University, and a Certificate in Corporate Community Involvement from Boston College.

Layne Romasco, M.Ed.

Vice Principal

Layne Romasco is a graduate of The Ohio State University, where she earned both her Bachelor of Arts and Master of Education degrees. She began her teaching career as a high school American and British literature teacher in a school for students with learning disabilities. In 2011, Layne moved to Columbus and joined the staff of Columbus Humanities, Arts and Technology Academy as a middle school, 6th-8th grade English Language Arts teacher. She then spent two years as a Read 180 teacher in Columbus City Schools, helping to improve the Reading skills of students who were performing 2 or more grade levels behind their same-age peers. In 2015, Layne returned to Columbus Humanities, Arts and Technology Academy, where she served as the Academic Director for one year and currently serves as the Vice Principal.

Staff Directory

  • Erin Johnson

  • Layne Romasco

    Vice Principal, Academics
  • Lisa Tennyson

  • Jacqueline Leonard

    Office Manager
  • Sandra Bove

    Intervention Services Director
  • Douglas Adams

    ESL Coordinator
  • Shelby Castle

    Title I Program Coordinator
  • Brandi Curd-Watson

    Parent Liaison
  • Sukia Neal

    Lead Administrative Assistant
  • Sharon Curd-Watson

    Service Manager
  • Sunshine Bell

    Food Services
  • Derek Lambert

    Instructional Aide
  • Sherlon Middleton

    Instructional Aide
  • Sylvia Fitch

    Instructional Aide
  • Ricardo Volley

    Instructional Aide
  • Marie Skaug

    Instructional Aide
  • Otha Watson

    Instructional Aide
  • Devi Bhandari

  • Kathleen Chappell

  • Constance Ballentine

    TeacherGrade K
  • Kathryn Spencer

    TeacherGrade K
  • Desiree Shull

    TeacherGrade K
  • Melissa Leeder

    TeacherGrade 1
  • Victoria Hossenlopp

    TeacherGrade 1
  • Shellie Dye

    TeacherGrade 1
  • Halen Core

    TeacherGrade 2
  • Cori Furer

    TeacherGrade 2
  • Chelsea Thomas

    TeacherGrade 2
  • Cameron Fischer

    TeacherGrade 3
  • Henry Savage

    TeacherGrade 3
  • James Bradley

    TeacherGrade 3
  • Emilee Murphy

    TeacherGrade 4 Math/Science
  • Wendy Lomano

    TeacherGrade 4 ELA/Social Studies
  • Eriny Attia

    TeacherGrade 5-6 Math
  • Ian George

    TeacherGrade 5-6 Science
  • Laurel Shapiro

    TeacherGrade 5-6 Social Studies
  • Jeffrey Belcik

    TeacherGrade 7-8 ELA
  • Heather Flint

    TeacherGrade 7-8 Science
  • Philip Meneses

    TeacherGrade 7-8 Social Studies
  • Carol Norwood

    TeacherGrade 7-8 Math
  • Kristen Katricak

    Tech Literacy Teacher
  • Megan Sadiq

    Art Teacher
  • Sura Madison

    Physical Education Teacher
  • Samantha Barnes

    Title I Teacher
  • Sharon Miller

    Title I Teacher
  • Wyona Peay

    Title I Teacher
  • Flavious Martin

    Title I Math Teacher
  • Jerah Pettibone

    Resource Teacher
  • Marie Deardurff

    Intervention Specialist